CNC-Siege

BlackHand1337

Hey folks,

first I'm new to the UDK and still learning with a little help of kenz video series which most of us know.

I played a lot of Renegade back in the days and most of our all beloved maps are back, but one of my favourites was always CNC-Siege which I remember as one hell of a map, although it could just be the nostalgia, anyways I decided to rack up some UDK knowledge and try to build it myself.

Its now day 2 of my project and I got the basics done. I think im making good progress here and I decided to make it public here to hear some opinions on my progress so far and maybe gather some ideas here.

I'm thinking of altering the map a little to feature maybe a silo or two, but I'm still unsure of that.

I want to rebuild it as exactly as I can, but since its my first map I know it won't be a 1:1 rebuild(guess I'll call it CNC-Siege Redux/V2 then), so why not adding some Renegade X features.

Here are some pictures.

Topview

8vyJhnQ.png

Sideview'ish with shadows (didnt put any lightnings but the directional light so far)

Qb7m8P8.png

Sideview'ish w/o shadows

u2SJJYN.png

Nodbase

PHtCLib.png

GDIbase

d9ZZhGs.png

Topview again, but with plans and ideas for the map

q95hnH2.png

I still have some problems with the making of the tunnels and the bridge featured on this map.

The bridge thats visible on the screenshots is just a placeholder to have a better orientation.

I'll focus on the landscape for now and continue watching the video series to learn some more, maybe that will automatically solve the tunnel and bridge problem, we'll see.

I'll keep you updated and would appreciate any feedback given.

1. Go to your renx game folder.

2. Copy all maps

3. Paste in UDK Renx Map folder

4. Open the maps from the UDK folder. Copy bridges, partial bunkers, and other structures from maps already made.

5. Alter them to your liking

6. Profit

Fastest way to rapidly develop complex structures and map features.