Regarding the altered properties of the EMP Grenade in Patch v5.29

limsup

Disclaimer: I have considered to write about this, to the pre-existing topic of Balancing of EMP-Grenades  (against mines) but was advised to start a separate thread, as according to my personal observation, the phenomenon I wish to discuss has gained increased significance after the latest, v5.29 Patch.

Abstract: According to my recent observations (post v5.29 Patch), the EMP Grenade’s functions potency regarding to clearing enemy mines has increased rather drastically. I would like to hear the Community’s opinion on the possible implications of this matter.

Yesterday, as we were playing with the now updated version of Renegade-X, on the map titled “Snow”, as a Nod Technician, I took on the initiative to mine the Nod base (on that particular map consisting of Hand-of-Nod and Air Strip). The level had a mine limit of 15, which was – in my personal opinion – sufficient. Only 10 minutes have elapsed, and I witnessed a massive and abrupt decline in the mine count. I did run through the release notes previously, and immediately became suspicious of the EMP Grenade (I did not witness it first visually, as I was busy repairing vehicles in the tunnel). Then in a short time, it has happened again! It seemed, that no matter how often I re-mine the front entrance of the Hand-of-Nod, the mines keep disappearing en-masse.

When I finally assessed the situation, I began to reposition the mines further from the front door, hoping to exceed the range of the stray EMP Grenade. I did not succeed. This has led to me conducting a few experiments on Constructive Tyranny’s Testing Server. With the help of Initiate, we took on to assess the precise effects of the EMP Grenade on Hand-of-Nod, with different mine-formations.

The default mine-layout was the following.