How friendly is the community when it comes to custom content

Kirby550

Hi everyone it's been a while since I have been on the forums. I am currently working on a huge map pack that features currently 25 maps so I wanted to ask how friendly is the community when it comes to custom maps. I am asking this because this is my first time doing something like this so I wanted to know friendly the community is before I release the map pack when it is all finished.

Any information would greatly be appreciated. Thank you.

Personally, i love new maps, but i love full servers more. So if i will even see your maps entirely depends on if the server being used has your maps in rotation. I don't know what criteria the devs use for adding maps to the official servers, but it might be worth reaching out to them.

Really though, even if the community was toxic as f!ck toward new maps (which it isn't), would you go to the effort of making 25 maps just to keep them to yourself and not release them?

9 hours ago, Kirby550 said:

I am currently working on a huge map pack that features currently 25 maps

Are the maps made by you or any affiliate from scratch or are they modifications to existing maps or merely just a re-bundle of maps which already exist in the Forum's development section or download section?

Map "packs" have little practical meaning in this game since practically no one uses manual download and installation of maps. Custom maps are decided upon by the server owners, who need to include them in their server's configuration, where map rotation is specified. 

Then they need to set up a web server from which the maps in question would be downloaded to clients. It also has to be configured in a certain way, else downloaders would be stuck at a few KiloBytes per second transfer speed.