I dont know but...

ConfessingBawb

Sorry if people find it annoying when I ask this...

I am somewhat new to the internet when it comes to web and stuff. However, I am not new to multiplayer gameplay, as I used to play online through RenegadeList or some program that was actually used by a great amount of people to play online in servers and such, which was like 2 months ago.

However, I come onto the download area after hearing the most freakin' awesome mod known and see that the Renegade X is a torrent or something, which I was told downloading torrents were illegal (and this is a mod, so it wouldn't be...), along with the fact that I have no idea how to even download torrents that were told to be legal or something like that. I was told by people that I hung around with and they may not know jack about the internet.

Sorry if I sound "newb" or whatever, it's just that I got trust issues when it comes to this type of thing. If anyone would like to explain or help, that'd be great.

The question is, is the torrent the only way to acquire Renegade X and go play some good online? If so, anyone mind spending some of their time helping me out?

Torrents in themself are not illegal in any way, Like a knife is not in itself illegal, but stabbing people is.

It is the way they are used mostly that are illegal.

If you download illegal content well then it is illegal, but not because of the torrent but because of the content.

You can download Renegade X with the torrent fully legal. But if you are unfamiliar with torrents i suggest you choose a direct download mirror enstead, since torrents require a torent management program.

Hope it helped else feel free to ask again. :)

Torrents are just a special way of downloading. It works with a program that connects many people that have the file you want to download. The idea is that it is much faster, as it will download files not from start to finish but download the file at any point it can get it from the peers.