Computer help.....

Ballstein

So my laptop has started acting real slow lately, from turning on and off taking forever.....to programs taking too long to load....to if i'm looking at a website and I right-click to open new tab it takes forever. Now i'm not very good at computers and stuff, so i'm asking for your help. Under the task manager, my CPU usage seems to always be around 75% or more, and physical memory around 40-50%. Also, around 70-75 processes are on at any given time. I've taken most of the startup programs off but have no idea what half of them do.

These are my specs:

HP Pavilion dv6500se

Vista Home Premium 32-bit

2 Duo CPU T7300 @2.00 GHz

2 gigs of RAM

NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS

DirectX Version 10

I'm running Kaspersky 2009 and it shows no virus's or malware or anything.

On startup, i've pressed F2 and did a memory test and disk check and it says everything is fine.

I've run chkdsk on startup and everything seems fine.

I've defraged my hard drive.

I'd like to do anything but reinstall the OS, so if you have any suggestions please let me know. Also, if you need anymore info about the computer let me know.

Also, if the best thing to do is reinstall the OS, is there a way to save programs that i've downloaded (fraps, bittorrent, Renegade...things like that) on CD's or should I just re-download them once everything is done?

Thanks,

Ballstein

QUOTE (Ballstein @ Feb 11 2009, 03:55 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
So my laptop has started acting real slow lately, from turning on and off taking forever.....to programs taking too long to load....to if i'm looking at a website and I right-click to open new tab it takes forever. Now i'm not very good at computers and stuff, so i'm asking for your help. Under the task manager, my CPU usage seems to always be around 75% or more, and physical memory around 40-50%. Also, around 70-75 processes are on at any given time. I've taken most of the startup programs off but have no idea what half of them do.